Soundtrack of my life: Motorcycles and music – While my bike gently weeps

For some reason, the last couple of weeks have been very difficult to deal with the remnants of winter.  The country has been slammed with one winter storm after another, and thanks to Jerry Jones’s lack of preparation and buying up all the plows in the lower 48 states to clear some ground for the Super Bowl last weekend, it has taken longer than usual to dig our ways out.  The last couple of days have shown a glimmer of hope.  A shimmer of promising sunshine has poked through the forecast, and  it is finally getting above freezing.  The snow and ice that has been covering the ground for the last month will hopefully melt away like butter in a microwave by the start of next week.  Punxsutawney Phil wasn’t able to see his shadow the other week (likely due to a blizzard blowing through town), which means that spring is right around the corner.  I can see the light at the end of the tunnel.  And that single source of light is coming from the headlight of my motorcycle!

Each night as I lay myself down to sleep, I can hear the breathy whisper from my air filter calling me from the corner of my garage.  As my winterized motorcycle rests on its jack with the battery taken out, I can hear it crying itself to sleep every night, yearning to break out of the confines of its hiding spot.  Like a bear awaking from the slumber of hibernation, my bike waits to roar out of its man cave into the bright, colorful world like a newborn baby.  I have started to hear rumblings of charity rides for this season, and it makes my soul salivate for the first opportunity to gear up, strap on, and put the world in my mirrors.  My mind longs for the chance to ride into the open air with nothing separating me from the expanse of God’s green Earth.  I’ve been driving home in the evenings blasting my “Motoring” playlist on my iPod preparing myself for the minute I’ll get to hear my motorcycle thunder to life and shake the foundation of my quaint little neighborhood.

Anxiously waiting for Spring

I began writing this post sullen, with a down-trodden point of view on the lasting affects of winter.  But my blood pressure is rising as I start hearing the hum of the amplifier in the back of my brain.  Nothing can get my heart pumping more than the sound of a big bike and even bigger guitar riffs.  Music and motoring go hand-in-hand.  Even if you don’t ride a motorcycle, you can find a way to relate.  Cruising up and down main street in the summer with the windows down, sunroof popped, or top laid back cranking your ultimate mix of feel good tunes.  For me, it was the excessive shredding of 80’s hair metal that plastered a goofy grin to my face.  Maybe even a guilty pleasure thrown in like Sheryl Crow’s “Soak Up The Sun.”  Yeah, I just admitted that.  Don’t judge me.  But to get the hardcore badassness of being a biker, I have a very special, dedicated playlist that I have spent countless hours trying to perfect.  I will now unveil and share with you my famed “Motoring” playlist:

“The Weight” – The Band.  Iconically known for being a staple of the “Easy Rider” soundtrack.  Also made an appearance as a spoof in a scene from the “Starsky And Hutch” remake.

“Free Ride” – Edgar Winter.  The title explains everything for me.

“Slow Ride” – Foghat.  Quintessential classic rock tune made for motoring.

“Born To Be Wild” – Steppenwolf.  The unofficial theme song for bikers everywhere.

“Mississippi Queen” – Mountain.  I dare you to listen to this song and not get riled up.

“Black Betty” – Ram Jam.  I couldn’t get a spot for cowbell, but a gong will suffice for this list.

“Bad To The Bone” – George Thorogood And The Destroyers.  An alternative unofficial biker theme song.

“Wanted Dead Or Alive” – Bon Jovi.  The song encompasses riding and rocking…my two favorite things!

“If You Want Blood (You’ve Got It)” – AC/DC.  High energy stadium rock to get your blood pumping.  (Hopefully it remains pumping internally!)

“Hair Of The Dog” – Guns N’ Roses.  “Now you’re messing with a son-of-a-bitch.”  My own personal theme song.

“Ace Of Spades” – Motorhead.  Nothing says biker like Lemmy Kilmister and his badass bass.

“Cowboys From Hell” – Pantera.  Hell’s Angels – Modern day cowboys.

“Thunderkiss ’65” – White Zombie.  C’mon.  Seriously.  Try arguing with this one.

“Fuel” – Metallica.  Their final song before drifting into irrelevancy.  No explanation necessary.

“Ridin'” – Buckcherry.  I don’t see the point in spelling this out for you.

“Doperide” – Saliva.  Seeing the theme here yet?

“This Life” – Curtis Stigers And The Forest Rangers.  Introduction song for Sons Of Anarchy.  I hate waiting for a new season to start!

 

Omissions:

“Sister Christian” – Nightranger.  You might be asking yourself something along these lines, “You’ve used the term ‘motoring’ several times, but you didn’t include the song that you stole the line from??”  You are correct.  Listen to the song again.  Read the lyrics.  Hardly hardcore enough for this playlist.  That being said, I really do like this song.

“Symphony Of Destruction” – Megadeth.  I have no good reason why I left this killer tune off my list.  In fact, I will be adding it the next time I boot up my computer.  My sincerest apologies to Dave Mustaine. 

“Girls, Girls, Girls” – Motley Crue.  Just because it starts off with the revving of an engine doesn’t make it a good biker song.  It doesn’t even make it that good of a song otherwise.  That’s right, I said it.  I like a lot of their songs.  This one is…okay.

“Leader Of The Pack” – Twisted Sister.  I love Dee Snider.  I think Twisted Sister were comedic geniuses.  This is a remake of an old song by The Shangri-Las.  Lame.

“Saturday Night’s Alright (For Fighting)” – Nickleback.  “A couple sounds that I really like, Are the sounds of a switch blade and a motorbike.”  Great lyric.  I kind of had to fight with myself about this song for a little bit.  I really like it.  Kind of a lot.  But when it came down to it, it’s still Nickleback.  I could have added the version with Kid Rock, but that doesn’t really change anything now does it?  And ultimately, it’s an Elton John song.  Nothing screams hardcore, badass biker like Elton John, right?

 

So there it is: my ultimate feel-good biker mix.  Do you agree with my selections?  Did I clearly overlook anything?  Leave your thoughts in the comment section below.  On a steel horse I ride.  Do you?

Thank you, that is all.

One response to “Soundtrack of my life: Motorcycles and music – While my bike gently weeps

Leave a Reply

