Rock reprises – Modern monsters covering classic masters

Before we get started with this post, let me begin by pointing out the title.  I refuse to use the word “remix” when talking about real music.  That moniker is reserved for the sole purpose of defining rap song 2.0’s.  It is also important to understand the difference between a reprise and a reprisal.  Make sense?  Still with me?  Good.  Moving on…

__________________________________________________

Is it just me, or would it be really cool to see your favorite modern bands do a concept tribute album/concert of some of the all time greats??  As stated in a previous post, despite the complete lack of originality, I am a total sucker for a good cover song.  One afternoon whilst driving home from work and rocking my “Covers” playlist, a dim light bulb flashed on above my head, and as the thought came more into focus, the filament in the bulb began burning brighter and blindingly brighter.  However, this time my thought process entails more than a random cover tune.  I see an entire production dedicated to the legends of yesteryear.  Essentially, how awesome would it be to see current headliners become temporary tribute bands?  I’ll lay out my idea with a few examples.  (Note:  These suggestions may not represent my true favorite modern bands, but for the sake of this discussion I attempted to stay true to the challenge.)

  • I think Kings of Leon could pull off a very interesting interpretation of Creedence Clearwater Revival…modern southern rockers putting their twist on the original swamp rockers – yes please!
  • I would be very interested to see what kind of level Rob Zombie could take the shock rock of Alice Cooper.  The Superbeast spewing Poison??  Sign me up for that!
  • How about the Offspring doing The Ramones?  Modern day punk rockers taking their turn with the originals…you can’t go wrong with that.
  • Given Slipknot’s stage antics and Halloween style gimmick, I think it would be quite possible that they could put together a nice KISS act.  Seriously.  It would take The Demon to a whole new level!
  • The other thought I’ve had is Stone Temple Pilots covering Led Zeppelin. I would love to hear Cornell try to match Robert Plant.  You know, if he could stay out of rehab long enough to actually attend rehearsal. 
  • And for my final suggestion, I would really like to see nu-metal originators Korn take on heavy metal originators Black Sabbath.  (My own personal bias would have Disturbed or Godsmack staring down this challenge, but out of true-ity to the concept I will stick with the inventors of the genre.  (It’s my blog, I can make up words if I want to.  And yes, this is a parenthesis inside of a parenthesis that you are witnessing!))

 This post originated as a facebook status, and garnered several responses to which I will provide a couple of the better thoughts.  In fact, this post was the original thought behind starting my own blog.  Oddly enough, I now find myself wondering why it has taken me this long to finally get this topic typed up and published. 

You guys are welcome for the shout out, now shut it.

Daniel Jones Pearl Jam doing Jim Morrison/The Doors.

Kris Berger So…Chas is gonna hate me for bringing up obscure British rock, but too bad!!! I would love to see the Arctic Monkeys make a Clash tribute album. I think the nice mix of old school british punk with new would be amazing!!

 Please leave your thoughts in the comment section below.  All suggestions are welcome (and open to scrutiny)!  And please put some thought into this…connections between the bands will add more credibility!  Anybody? Bueller?

Thank you, that is all.

2 responses to “Rock reprises – Modern monsters covering classic masters

  • Dan

    How about the Foo Fighters putting a new age twist on the classics by The Rolling Stones.

    • ckelley06

      I like that this post drew you back in!

      “With all due respect, and I’m saying ‘with all due respect'” that could be pretty decent, but I won’t go any further than that. An overrated current band remaking an overrated classic band…In my humble opinion. But it would be cool to see them pull off “Gimme Shelter” and I can see them killing “Paint It Black.”

Leave a Reply

