Thinking outside the canvas – Again

I have updated the first post on modern artists and the unique mediums that they choose to display their works a couple of times now, so I finally just decided to write a new one with an update of some more modern art pioneers that have been brought to my attention.  Here is the second installment for your viewing pleasure…

_____________________________

Nip/Tuck

Simon Schubert has an eye for detail.  This article jumped out and grabbed me with the faint appearance of a picture set in the midst of a snow storm.  Click here to see what I believe are all of his masterpieces.  I can only imagine how long one of these pieces takes to come to form.  (I really have no clue because I can’t read, write, speak, or understand German, so your guess is as good as mine.  Unless you know German, then you don’t have to guess at all…you’ll immediately know if I’m right or not, but since this is my blog I’m going to say that I’m right.)

Created solely by using strategically placed folds in the paper.

  Moving pictures

They say a picture is worth a thousand words.  I don’t know who “they” are, but that seems to be their mantra.  Well, if only they could see these highly polished electronic files!  A friend brought this article to my attention, and am I glad he did!  Jamie Beck and Kevin Burg have brought a whole new life to digital pictures…literally.  By using a .GIF file extension, they manage to add a minimal amount of animation to a still-frame picture – just enough to really grab your attention and leave you wanting more, that they call cinemagraphs.  I failed to embed the file in all its glory, so just check out this link to their Tumblr account to get the complete experience.

Must be a good news day

Sidewalk scenery

Up next:  Edgar Mueller.  Another German makes his way into this post leading me to believe that there is a shortage of standard art supplies in Germany.  I’m fairly certain he walks the streets everyday carefully searching for mole people…or Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.  His infatuation with fantastic underworlds lost beneath our streets and sidewalks is simply amazing.  Look below to see for yourself.

Watch your step

Tiny people, big world

All great artists are known by one name; Beethoven, Michelangelo, Madonna, Cher, Prince, Bono (questionable), and the list goes on and on.  All the way to Slinkachu.  A former art teacher from England, he prefers to with-hold his real name, but his work is all you need to know.  It is very unique…and thoughtful.  He sets up tiny scenes using miniature model people around big, scary cities, trying to imitate the loneliness that comes with getting lost in the shuffle with countless other citizens.  He successfully adds a sense of humor though, just to keep things light and avoid getting too real for those that can’t handle it.  His work also includes some mastery in photography, since it is behind the camera that he captures his tiny works.

Grind the rind!

_____________________________

Do me a favor and ignore the fact that Yahoo! brings most of these articles to my attention.  I like to think I would stumble across them sooner or later anyway, and I’m saving you the trouble by providing them all here in one easy to find post.  If you happen to know of anything interesting or stumble across something that simply blows your mind, post a link in the comments or send an email to simplytoocomplex.  Stay tuned for more incredible innovations in the art world, as it seems as though this may just turn into a recurring topic.  You’re welcome.

Thank you, that is all.

One response to “Thinking outside the canvas – Again

Leave a Reply

