Soundtrack of my life: Preparing for the zombie apocalypse

As you may have noticed, my infatuation with an impending zombie apocalypse has been renewed.  I stocked up my survival kit over the grueling winter months, I’ve noted the risk of zombie families, and I’ve schooled my wife on some of the basics.  Now, I’ve been plagued (WINK!) with the thought of what would be playing in the back of my mind while I’m doing what it takes to survive.

In addition, I thought it was about time I revisited the “Soundtrack Of My Life” post and give you all an updated glimpse into the ridiculous ramblings of my peanut brain.  So as the droning moan of hordes of dead-heads starts picking up, here’s my playlist to crank while combatting the mentally crippled creepers.  (In the case of the zombie apocalypse, do not blare music.  It would be much wiser to be tuned in and aware of your surroundings.)  Anyway, moving on.

Here are my thoughts…

“Call Of The Zombie” – Rob Zombie.  The opening track to the Hellbilly Deluxe album set the tone for some seriously demented lyrics.  The fact that it had children laughing about heads rolling makes it even creepier!

“The Sickness” – Disturbed.  It all starts somewhere, right?  In the case of zombies, it starts when you “get down with the sickness.”

“Zombie” – Cranberries.  Good song to set a slow-motion slaying spree to.  If I need to explain this, then you need to pay more attention.

“Thriller” – Michael Jackson.  Quite possibly the best music video of all time.  The song may not directly allude to zombies, but the video sure does…minus the part where they all “werewolf it.”

“Living Dead Girl” – Rob Zombie.  Not only does the track title and subject fall right in line with the purpose of this playlist, the artist name matches just as perfectly.

“Dead Girl Superstar” – Rob Zombie.  See above.

“Bodies” – Drowning Pool.  There might not be a better song ever written to get you amped up for a long afternoon of slaying zombies.  Enough said.

“Shoot To Thrill” – AC/DC.  Another song that would greatly serve its purpose of being the soundtrack to a energy-filled montage.

“Mad World” – Gary Jules.  Whatever version you choose is fine.  This is the one I’ll go with.  I think this would just be a super creepy addition to the soundtrack for the zombie apocalypse.  You can’t argue with me on this one.

I almost got carried away here and lost my focus of what I was really thinking.  I was tempted to include songs that didn’t technically pertain to the subject, but were CLOSE before I caught myself and decided that I couldn’t cheat my way through this…for your sake and mine.  I’ll be up front with you and give you some examples of the shenanigans I debated.  Readysetgo:

“More Human Than Human” – White Zombie.  Close, but no cigar.  Try LESS human than human.

“Monster Mash” – Bobby “Boris” Pickett & The Crypt-Kickers.  I am not denouncing that I like this song, but zombies aren’t technically “monsters” in the traditional sense of the word like Frankenstein, werewolves, Swamp Thing, and Dracula are.

The Zombies – This band immediately leapt to the forefront of my thoughts when I began writing this post.  However, upon further inspection of their catalogue of songs, I just didn’t see any that were appropriate.  Disappointingly, the band name is all that applied.

“Monster” – Skillet.  I like this song a good deal and really think it could work, but it falls into the same category as “Monster Mash.”

“Monster Side” – Addict.  Again, this is another song that I would really like to include, but it has the same pitfall mentioned above.

I know that this list could go on and on.  But it doesn’t.  This is where I’m stopping.  Have any other ideas or suggestions?  As always, leave them in the comments below!

I promise this will be my last post regarding zombies for a while.  I think.

Thank you, that is all.

4 responses to “Soundtrack of my life: Preparing for the zombie apocalypse

  • Dan

    I am curious, what song would you choose to listen to if you were making your “final stand”?

    • ckelley06

      Don’t worry, I’m not going to say something stupid like “Final Countdown.” There are several directions I could go with this one, and I think the situation would require a bit of a soundtrack on its own, so here goes:

      To release all hell and get pumped up I would start off with “If You Want Blood (You’ve Got It)” by AC/DC, “My Apocalypse” by Metallica, and “Highway To Hell” by AC/DC. I would follow that with “In The End” by Linkin Park, “Fade To Black” by Metallica, and end it all with something very down-beat and depressing. “Mad World” by Gary Jules was my first thought, and it would be a helluva choice, but to give you more variety, I will suggest “The World I Know” by Collective Soul.

      You like?

  • Dan

    And if you say The Final Countdown, I’m punching you right in the face!

    • Dan

      Dig the musical choices.

      I got faith in you though Chester…I think you can outlast the Zombies and Collective Soul can stay on the shelf until later in life.

Leave a Reply

