Soundtrack of my life: Independance Day

This is the time of year I love going to the store.  At the end of every other aisle is a gigantic display of potently packed gunpowder in brightly colored paper wrapping.  Kind of sounds like Christmas, doesn’t it?  Well, it kind of is.  This is the time of year we get to celebrate the Brits giving us our freedom.  There may or may not be a little more to it than that, but this is my blog and so I’ll use my version of historic events.

Any who, I felt it was time to deliver another installment of the soundtrack of my life – holiday edition.  Through the rocket’s red glare and the bombs bursting in air, here is what I’ll be rocking over the duration of this weekend.

Indiana nights

In some particular order:

“Star Spangled Banner” – Jimi Hendrix.  I also have versions performed by Metallica and KISS.  Pick your poison.  It doesn’t matter.  Just remember to celebrate the greatest country on the globe with the greatest national anthem!

“America The Beautiful” – Ray Charles.  You might call it cliché.  Others might call it sappy.  I call it pride.  Unlike you, I love America!

“Coming To America” – Neil Diamond.  I love Neil Diamond and I don’t care who knows it.  And he loves America…just like me!

“Born In The U.S.A.” – Bruce Springsteen.  I WAS born in the U.S.A. and I can totally relate to this song!  Can you?

“R-O-C-K In The U.S.A.” – John Cougar Mellencamp.  A hoosier through and through.  Just like me.  And he knows about rock.  Just like me.  I.  Like it.

“Living In America” – James Brown.  If this song was good enough for Apollo Creed, then it’s good enough for me!

“Surfin’ U.S.A.” – The Beach Boys.  The quintessential American rock and roll band.  These guys did nothing but write good, fun American tunes.

“American Girl” – Tom Petty.  The popular myth about this song is that it was a written tribute to a University of Florida student who committed suicide.  The factual story about this song is that cars passing by sounded like the ocean.  Don’t we all want to be by the ocean?  Isn’t that a little bit of the American dream?  Yes it is.

“That Ain’t My America” – Lynyrd Skynyrd.  This is a track that got lost in the shuffle on their latest release, “God & Guns.”  Johnny Van Zant does a lot of complaining in this song about modern America not resembling the good ol’ days that he knew and loved.  He has a point.  But different doesn’t always HAVE to be bad.

“American Woman” – The Guess Who/Lenny Kravitz.  The Guess Who might have come from Canada, but this song was born in the U.S.A.  The band claims to have come from a straight-laced country, then all of a sudden they found themselves touring around Chicago, Detroit, New York, etc. and they couldn’t help but notice the American women.

“We’re An American Band” – Grand Funk Railroad/Jackyl.  Take your pick.  I’ll go with the band that routinely uses a chainsaw as a musical instrument…as it should be!  Not that there’s anything wrong with Grand Funk Railroad though.  HEE-YOW!

“American Hair Band” – Tuff.  This band summarizes all that was great with American metal in one song…even if they did blatantly steal the music from a well-known hit.  So for those about to rock on July 4th, I salute you.  I strongly encourage you to look this song up once you are done here.

“American Girls” – Counting Crows.  I’m not a big fan of this song, but I am a big fan of American girls.  So much so that I married one!

“Kids In America” – Fourth Grade Nothing.  There are too many versions of this song to count, but this version from the “Bio-Dome” soundtrack is the one I have.  This song might be about me.  I used to be a kid in America…coincidence??  I’ll let you decide.

“Bleed American” – Jimmy Eat World.  Honestly, I have absolutely no idea what this song is about, but I kinda like Jimmy Eat World and this is a pretty decent song.  A little trivia for you – This track title also doubled for the album title.  The album was released 2 months before the 9/11 terrorist attack, and the album was simply updated to a self titled album “Jimmy Eat World.”  Likewise, this song’s title was also updated to “Salt Sweat Sugar.”  And now you know, the rest of the story…

“American Bad Ass” – Kid Rock.  Technically, this song has already been featured on this playlist in a sense.  He may have stolen the music, but the lyrics are all-American.  Okay, so he definitely stole the music.  (I’m surprised Metallica never sued him…Napster, anyone?)

“Pride” – Saliva.  Good, old-fashioned American pride – that’s what this song is about.  That’s what it is ALL about.  Simple enough.  “And if you don’t like it, you can GIT OUT!”

___________________________

World Trade Center tribute – These songs don’t particularly relate to the independence of our great nation, but they salute a very important date in our country’s history.  The lyrics themselves are the same from the original releases that we all know and love.  The important difference is the addition of sound bytes relating to September 11, 2001.  they include portions of press releases, news stories, witness reactions, and other media transmissions.  I can’t listen to these tracks without tearing up.  You might call me a baby.  I call me a patriot.  Traitor.  I’m not sure what compilation these tracks came from, I just know that I’m glad I found them.

“I Believe” – Blessid Union Of Souls.

“Higher” – Creed.

“Tears In Heaven” – Eric Clapton.

“Crawling” – Linkin Park.

“Lightning Crashes” – Live.

___________________________

In typical fashion, I will also include songs below that have been excluded for good reason.  Read on, readers.

“American Pie” – Don McLean.  This song is a classic and everyone knows it instantly.  It was originally a questionable inclusion on my playlist, but after doing a little more research concerning the lyrics, I came across this website that breaks it down line by line and came to the realization that it chronicles a very important time in American music, but doesn’t go much further than that.  Sorry.

“American Idiot” – Green Day.  They used to be a good band.  I used to like them a lot.  And then they started talking.  Save me your political views.  Play “When I Come Around” and get off the stage.

“Party In The U.S.A.” – Miley Cyrus.  Come on.  Seriously.  I’m a grown man, and this song is simply terrible.  Put it on your playlist if you want, but this post is titled soundtrack of MY life…not yours.

That wraps up this entry to the soundtrack series.  Did I forget anything?  Comment below about anything that I may have left out and it will be further considered in the future.  Now head outside, grill up some hot dogs and cheeseburgers, rock my playlist, and blow stuff up…just not your hand!  You’re welcome.  If you’ll excuse me, I have some fireworks to purchase.

Thank you, that is all.

One response to “Soundtrack of my life: Independance Day

Leave a Reply

