Soundtrack of my life: Home, sweet home

My wife and I are in the midst of purchasing a new home.  Along with all of those worries comes the stress of packing, cleaning, painting, and moving.  So I got to thinking about it, and what better way to improve all of those scenarios than with a rocking playlist to sing along to while we’re getting down and dirty?  A pretty nice playlist started forming in my head, and when I excitedly shared my thoughts with my wife, she had a couple more contributions that I hadn’t had time to come up with yet.  (Let’s not kid ourselves here, I eventually would’ve thought about them!)

So here goes, in no particular order other than alphabetical:

 “Move Along” – The All-American Rejects.  Good, fun, upbeat song that has “move” in the title.  I included the acoustic version as well, just for good measure and to give me an excuse to listen to this song again.

“House Of The Rising Sun” – The Animals.  This one was tricky.  I’m pretty sure it’s about a brothel in New Orleans.  I’m leaning more on the title than anything just because this is a classic song and I like it.  Who says the sun can’t rise on my new house?

“This Is Our House” – Bon Jovi.  I’ll admit it, I kind of rolled my eyes when I saw that they released a new single.  Then I saw the title and was intrigued (for the sole purpose of this playlist).  Turns out, it’s got a pretty good little groove to it!  The vocals are pretty bland though.

“Home” – Breaking Benjamin.  The lyrics for this song are pretty entertaining and very relevant to The Wizard Of Oz.  Nonetheless, the chorus is fitting and I needed to shore up the rock aspect of this playlist.

“Come Home Running” – Chris Tomlin.  This song may not be about a house.  But the message is undeniable, so don’t try.  Sinner.

“Welcome Home” – Coheed & Cambria. Let me start by saying that I am not a Coheed fan in any way, shape, or form…but this song is pretty killer.  The guitar hook is awesome, and totally makes up for the annoyance that is the lead singer!

“Home” – Collective Soul.  No lie, this used to be (and kind of still is) one of my favorite (modern) bands.  I like the guitar riff to open the song and the background vocals in the chorus.  You should too.

“Brick House” – The Commodores.  You know that’s right.  I have nothing else to say about this one.

“I Like To Move It” – Reel 2 Real.  You betcha.  Although I really don’t like to move it, move it at all, actually.  I’m excited about the new house, but dreading the packing, preparation, and moving parts.

“Our House” – Crosby, Stills, Nash, & Young.  I think our house IS a very, very, very fine house.

“Home” – Daughtry.  I’m sorry.  I really didn’t want to.  I don’t know how this poser has garnered so much fame from such a waste of a “reality/contest show,” but he has.  This song works here, so I couldn’t deny it…no matter how much I wanted to.

“Move It On Over” – George Thorogood & The Destroyers.  “Move over, little dog.  The mean ol’ dog is moving in.”  You got that right!

“Home” – The Goo Goo Dolls.  Kinda sissy, but I can’t help but enjoy a lot of their music.  You should also be aware that this band originally started out as a speed metal band.  Seriously.

“Home” – Jack Johnson.  Talk about sissy!  I can’t help it.  My wife likes his music, and some of it is kind of fun.  Plus it directly applies to my mission for this playlist.

“Our House” – Madness.  Our house isn’t technically in the middle of the street, but it’s in the center of our hearts!  (Awww…blech.  I can’t believe I just typed that.  And even worse – I LEFT IT!)

“Home” – Marc Broussard.  YouTube this video.  Go ahead, I’ll wait.  Wasn’t that worth it?!  You’re welcome.  This song has such a good funk, I try to throw it in every playlist I can!

“In The House Of Stone And Light” – Martin Page.  This one is kind of similar to The Animals – it doesn’t directly relate, but it adds another song to lengthen the playlist so it doesn’t repeat as much while we’re packing/cleaning/painting/moving.

“Home Sweet Home” – Motley Crue.  This song was one of the originals that leapt into my brain when this idea was born.  Gotta love some 80’s hair metal.

“The Way You Move” – Outkast.  Tell me you can resist cranking the volume when this song comes on, and I’ll show you a liar!

“Mama, I’m Coming Home” – Ozzy Osbourne.  Another one of the original songs from the beginning of this (Crazy) Train of thought.  See what I did there?

“Our House” – Phantom Planet.  This is a cover of the Crosby, Stills, Nash, & Young version, but I threw it in because I kind of like this band…at least what I know of them.  Which ain’t much.  I like their first single “California,” which was eventually ruined by that sorry excuse of a television show, “The O.C.”

“Home Sweet Home” – Rev Run.  I didn’t include “Sweet Home Alabama” for reasons you’ll see shortly, but with this song I got to keep the melody of it at least.

“Dare You To Move” – Switchfoot.  I have nothing to write here, so I’ll write that.

“Make Your Move” – Third Day.  What a great groove!  I really like this band, but their sound tends to get a little monotonous after a while.  Until this song.  You should definitely look it up!

“Bust A Move” – Young MC.  Yep.  Bust it.

_______________________________

And as usual, I will also include songs that weren’t up to snuff.  The following were denied for one reason or another:

“Home” – Three Days Grace.  I expect our house to be our home, so this one was a no-brainer.

“Broken Home” – Papa Roach.  Nobody wants, or dreams of having a broken home.  So bye-bye to this one.

“Sweet Home Alabama” – Lynyrd Skynyrd.  We live in Indiana, not Alabama.

“Paint It Black” – The Rolling Stones (Judas Priest).  I was thinking that this song had potential for a “cleaning/painting party,” but after further review I had to give it the axe.

“Run Home” – Priestess.  The title doesn’t really match the lyrics.  Too misleading.  Sayonara!

“Home” – Staind.  I’m not afraid to come back home.  Another downer.  So long, Staind.

“Your House” – Jimmy Eat World.  These lyrics are weird.  I think I can do without Jimmy Eat World and not be TOO upset.

“So Fresh, So Clean” – Outkast.  This was another one that I wanted to sneak in, with the thought being that it would pertain to a “cleaning/painting party.”  No dice.  I already included a couple of songs based solely on their titles…I can’t keep defending that.

“Pink Houses” – John Cougar Mellencamp.  It’s no secret that I enjoy me some Johnny Cougar, and I REALLY wanted to have him in this playlist, but it just didn’t make sense.

“Burning Down The House” – The Talking Heads (Tom Jones & The Cardigans).  Man, I really wanted to include this track.  Tom Jones is a personal hero of mine, no seriously, but I couldn’t bring myself to include it because let’s be real here – who wants their house to burn down??  Do yourself a favor and YouTube this song.  You’ll thank me later.

“Won’t Go Home Without You” – Maroon 5.  This one almost made it, and it even technically made the first cut just because it’s kind of a fun song to listen to.  Ultimately, the lyrics persuaded me to remove it from the list…too much of a downer!

And there you have it.  The next time you find yourself packing up and heading out, feel free to rock my playlist.  If I left anything out, tell me about it in the comments below!

Thank you, that is all.

3 responses to “Soundtrack of my life: Home, sweet home

Leave a Reply

