Soundtrack of my life: Christmas cheer

With Thanksgiving, tryptophan comas, and Black Friday all in our rear-view mirror, it’s time to climb into the attic, drag out the Christmas decorations, put up the tree, and hang the stockings with care.

It’s a good time of year for a lot of good annoying music, so here’s another look into the mind of a maniac.  This time, as you may have guessed, my playlist will center around the birth of one 8 pound, 6 ounce baby Jesus.

In whatever order I type them in:

“The Chipmunk Song (Christmas Don’t Be Late)” – Alvin & The Chipmunks.  I loved it when I was little, and it’s still a fun Christmas song…as long as it’s not on a repeating cycle.

“Blue Christmas” – Elvis Presley.  Elvis has become a bit of a running tradition between my mother-in-law and myself.  It doesn’t hurt that he is (arguably) the most influential musician in the rock and roll genre.  There is also a version of this song performed by Seymour Swine & The Squealers (imagine Porky Pig) that is priceless!

“Greensleeves/What Child Is This” – Miscellaneous artists.  I have too many renditions of these two songs to count.  Jeff Beck, Third Day, Kenny G (seriously, but don’t ask why), and on and on and on.  This is hands down my favorite Christmas song.

“Jingle Bell Rock” – Neil Diamond.  Neil Diamond has always been a favorite of mine – I put him right up there with Tom Jones, and if you know me then you know that’s saying something!

“The Chanukah Song” – Adam Sandler/Neil Diamond.  I try to include everyone around the holidays so no one feels left out…I’m no racist!  (Yeah, I know.)  There are numerous renditions of this song.  I even have a track by this title by Kenny G.  (Man, there he is again!)

“The 12 Days of Christmas” – Straight No Chaser.  If you have no idea what this song is, I implore you to download it e-mediately!  You will not regret it!

“Baby It’s Cold Outside” – Tom Jones & Cerys Matthews.  Such a classic.  And it’s Tom Jones, man!

“Gettin’ In The Mood (For Christmas)” – Brian Setzer Orchestra.  This is what these guys do best.  No, not rockabilly.  That other thing – get a great big band sound.  Why not take one of the most recognized swing songs ever and turn it into a Christmas song?

“Wizards In Winter” – Trans-Siberian Orchestra.  You have undoubtedly seen the beer commercials every December of the Christmas light display set to flash to the beat of this song.  If not, you have now!  You’re welcome.

“A Mad Russian’s Christmas” – Trans-Siberian Orchestra.  Any classical orchestra featuring a shredding lead guitarist, pyrotechnics, and a laser-light show is okay in my book!  If you’ve never looked into these guys, go ahead right now.  I’ll wait, then meet you at the next selection.

“Christmas Eve/Sarajevo 12/24” – Trans-Siberian Orchestra.  Back?  Aren’t you glad I brought them to your attention?  Your Christmas will be infinitely greater now than it would have been.  Again, you’re welcome.

“Oh Come All Ye Faithful” – Twisted Sister.  Come on now.  It’s a Christmas classic set to the beat of “We’re Not Gonna Take It!”  Was there any question I would ever consider passing up this track?!?

“Heavy Metal Christmas (The Twelve Days of Christmas)” – Twisted Sister.  The live performance of this song featured on the band’s Christmas dvd is hilarious.  Anything by Twisted Sister is hilarious.  If you disagree, then you clearly have no sense of humor.

“Santa Baby” – The Pussycat Dolls.  Terrible group.  Good song.  So sue me.

“The Christmas Can-Can” – Straight No Chaser.  The a capella group is back at it with round 2 of their Christmas compilations.  Not a bad second showing from the band.

“You’re A Mean One, Mr. Grinch” – Straight No Chaser/Crash Test Dummies/Brian Setzer Orchestra.  After hearing Christmas music for long enough, anyone’s mood can sour.  There are more than enough versions of this track to please anyone in the Scrooged mood.  Pick your genre, and Grinch away.

“Christmas All Over Again” – Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers.  Tom Petty was the first concert I ever went to (Wildflowers tour), and he’s held a special place in my heart ever since.  It’s a nice change-up for a typically predictable playlist.  How could I not include him?

“Auld Lang Syne”  – Barenaked Ladies.  The inevitable song to end the Christmas season and turn the attention towards the New Year.  You might have a different version of this song.  You probably have a different version of this song.

My actual playlist is much, MUCH longer than that due to several repeats and alternate versions, but those are some personal favorites.

________________________________

And now in typical fashion, I’ll throw in a couple that didn’t make the cut.

Out:

“December” – Collective Soul.  Technically, this song is included in my playlist, but it really has no place other than the title.  The lyrics have no relevancy to Christmas, or even the month of December for that matter!

“A Long December” – Counting Crows.  Just like the last one, this song is actually part of my playlist.  But for the sake of this post, I threw it out as a reject because it doesn’t pertain to Christmas and it’s really a downer of a song for such a feel-good time of year.

Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night.

Thank you, that is all.

One response to “Soundtrack of my life: Christmas cheer

Leave a Reply

