Merry Christmas – The reason for the season

Okay, so I really have no idea where to start with this post.  I kind of have an idea where I’d like to end up, but let’s see what actually happens between now and then, shall we?

Recently Rhode Island was brought to my attention.  That’s so rare of an occurrence that I clearly remember the cause.  The governor of the state unveiled the state’s decorated evergreen and referred to it as the “holiday tree.”  Holiday tree?!  Wait, what’s that?  Do you mean “Christmas tree?”  Did I miss the memo that dedicates a decorated tree as the symbol for all holidays?  Last I checked, that specific icon signified Christmas. 

December 25th is not a holiday for every religion, and not every religion has a holiday in the month of December.  Therefore, there is no reason to take away the distinction of having a Christmas tree.  Nice try, but no dice.  It’s a symbol for a specific Christian holiday.  It’s “Merry Christmas” for a reason.  It is observed as the birthday for one 6 pound, 8 ounce baby Jesus Christ.  We don’t refer to a minora as a “holiday candle-holder” or “festive candelabra.”  As a Christian, I’m not offended by the word minora in the least bit.  Likewise, I don’t expect followers of other faiths to be insulted by the term Christmas tree.

I understand people saying “happy holidays” to strangers instead of “merry Christmas” because you can’t be sure of a person’s faith just from their appearance.  But if you’re decorating a tree for the month of December, the fact is, you’re decorating a Christmas tree.  I said it.  There’s nothing to be upset about. 

I’m well aware that Christmas isn’t the only winter holiday, but it is a major one.  So major that the majority of the U.S. at least observes it, if not celebrates it.  And as I already said, other religions are more than welcome to their symbols.

People will read this and get upset that I have decided to focus on this, instead of the origin of the holiday.  I get that.  My response is read it again.  I’m not yelling about a tree.  I’m upset that people are taking Christ out of Christmas.  It’s not X-mas.  I’ve never heard of Crisscrossmas. 

Other religions don’t soften their terminology for fear of offending someone, so why do Christians?  How is celebrating your savior offensive?  You have differing beliefs?  Okay, that’s your prerogative.  I don’t get upset during Passover, Rash Hashanah, Ramadan, et cetera. 

I’m not upset with stores’ generic holiday signage.  That’s not the point.  Shopping is kind of the exact opposite point of Christmas, but I’m not going to get into that.  The mood of the season is supposed to be goodwill toward men (and even women!).  That doesn’t mean only goodwill toward Christians, and it doesn’t mean goodwill for everyone BUT Christians.  

I’m not trying to thump my chest and shout how picked on Christians are.  Sometimes I just get a little frustrated with the amount of acceptance (or lack thereof) there is. 

Grow up, get a life, and toughen up.  Welcome to the land of the free.  Where people are free to practice their religious beliefs and not be scared of persecution.  Muslim, Jewish, Buddhist, Hindu, and yes, even Christian.

Happy Holidays?  No thanks.  Merry Christmas, Happy Chanukkah, Happy Kwanzaa, etc.

You may consider the soapbox dismounted.  I’m not completely confident this came out the way I was hoping, but here it is regardless.  Take it or leave it.

God bless us all.

Thank you, that is all.

2 responses to “Merry Christmas – The reason for the season

Leave a Reply

