Soundtrack of my life: Happy New Year

Welcome back!  Hopefully this finds you all with clear vision and your sights set on all the exciting things that the upcoming year will offer.  My creativity hasn’t fully kicked in this year yet, so I thought I would start it off with a tried and true format – the soundtrack of my life.  Last year saw a LOT of big things happen for me, and it was great starting this blog to share it all with you.  This year will pick up right where I left off: random ramblings and unmuted musings!  So grab your reading glasses, a nice warm mug of hot chocolate, and let’s put some lipstick on this pig, shall we?  Thank you, we shall.

With a new year, comes a new level of optimism.  So many resolutions and checklists that have overflowed for the last 5 years.  This year is the year.  Or maybe you’re a little more cynical.  Well, what better way to jumpstart an attitude adjustment than with the hope that goes hand-in-hand with a brand spanking new year?  I’ll list off my New Year’s playlist to help you get motivated for the next 12 months.  Readysetgo!

“New Year’s Day” – U2.  Personally, I’m not a big fan of U2 AT ALL, but what better way to start my New Year’s playlist than with a song called New Year’s Day??

“1999” – Prince.  The good ol’ standard cliché.  You knew it was coming, so let’s just go ahead and get it out-of-the-way.

“Celebration” – Kool & The Gang.  Again, it’s a staple for December 31 and January 1st.  You knew it was coming, so here it is.

“Shiny Happy People” – R.E.M.  The beginning of a shiny, brand new year.  What better way to start a year than being happy?  R.E.M. may have broken up, but Michael Stipe’s lyrics will live on forever.

“Happy” – Sister Hazel.  With a new year comes new hopes, dreams, and expectations.  Might as well face your new resolutions with a smile.  If you know me very well, then you know I’m forever an optimist.  <COUGH, COUGH>  No sarcasm there AT ALL!

“Beautiful Day” – U2.  If the previous year had some hard times and struggles, then put it behind you and move onto an all-new, beautiful day.  I know I’ve already stated my disgust toward U2, and this is the second song on this very short playlist by them.  In my opinion, that’s 2 songs too many, but they fit in here so well.  What’re ya gonna do??

“Smile” – Uncle Kracker.  Seeing the theme here yet?  A new year brings new hopes.  Smile and be happy about them.

“Beautiful Life” – Edwin McCain.  Do I really need to keep spelling these out for you??

“Happy Together” – The Turtles.  I put this one on here because of my wife, but you don’t have to be married to be “happy together.”  Enjoy your friends, family, and other loved ones.

“Waiting On The World To Change” – John Mayer.  If your optimism was lost somewhere along the way in the previous year and replaced by cynicism, then this one’s for you.  Keep your head down, nose to the grindstone, and make this year better.

“Auld Lang Syne” – Barenaked Ladies.  There are countless renditions of this track, but this is the one that I’m writing, and it’s my list, so it’s decided.  No other song should ever be played to close out a new year’s celebration.  Loosely translated to mean “days gone by,” this song wraps things up nicely.

Luckily, that’s where we’re going to zip it up.  I don’t have an exclusion list for this post.  No other songs came to mind when I put this playlist together, and there were no songs that I deemed inappropriate or unnecessary, so there were none that got left off.  I hope you all enjoy the coming year and be blessed with good health, good friends, and good times.

Thank you, that is all.

Leave a Reply

